Nomination Instructions

Nominations may be made by any healthcare or scientific professional with whom the candidate has had extensive working experience. This may include, but need not be limited to, physicians, scientists or other healthcare professionals.

Those wishing to nominate a candidate are encouraged to do so by completing the on-line nomination form. Alternatively, a letter may be sent to the Award Committee identifying the candidate and providing full contact information for the nominee.

Each nominee will be contacted by the Award Committee and told of his/her nomination. The nominee will then be responsible for assembling and providing to the Award Committee materials that detail why the nominee merits consideration. Two sealed letters of recommendation must be mailed directly to the Award Committee. These should address how the writer is familiar with the nominee, provide a description of the accomplishments of the nominee, and make a case for why the writer believes the candidate is suitable for the Award. The nominee must provide the Award Committee with his/her curriculum vitae and any other materials deemed worthy of review and consideration. The nominee also should provide a PDF of one published article he/she feels best represents his/her work.


Award Committee

Review of candidates and final selection of the Award recipient will be made by an Award Committee of nationally and internationally renowned scientists and business leaders. (See the following list of committee membership.) The candidates will be notified of the decision. No written reports will be provided.


Award Committee Members

Arthur L. Beaudet, M.D.
Baylor College of Medicine


Deborah Dunsire, M.D.
EnVivo Pharmaceuticals


Uta Francke, M.D.
Stanford University School of Medicine


Wayne Grody, M.D., Ph.D.
UCLA School of Medicine


Bruce R. Korf, M.D., Ph.D.
University of Alabama at Birmingham


Raju Kucherlapati, Ph.D.
Harvard Medical School


Cynthia Morton, Ph.D.
Brigham and Women's Hospital


David Valle, M.D.
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine


Stephen T. Warren, Ph.D.
Emory University School of Medicine


Scott T. Weiss, M.D., M.S.
Partners HealthCare Center for Personalized Genetic Medicine, Harvard Medical School